Nigeria Stock Exchange – NSE

Nigerian Stock Exchange is one of Nigeria’s two main stock exchanges, its main stock exchange index is the Nigeria Stock Exchange All Share. The stock exchange has been founded in 1960, its headquarter is based in Lagos in Nigeria. The Nigerian Stock Exchange is involved in the listing and trading of securities and there are 200 listed companies with a market capitalization of 9,850 trillion Naira to the reference date (December 31, 2015).

The following actors are involved in the NSE market:

  • NDIC (Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation) – Ensure all the deposit bonds of licensed banks and the other financial institutions operating in Nigeria.
  • SEC (Security and Exchange Commission) – has a three-pronged mission that is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly and efficient markets, facilitate the capital formation.